Sharpening My Cooking Skills

In addition to baking, I’ve also had some time to practice my cooking skills. I’m not one to just throw things together. I typically need a recipe, but I’m getting better at just ‘winging it’ or using a recipe and making my own modifications.

An example is this One-Pan Citrus Chicken dish. Very easy as it all goes in the oven together, and super tasty. I try to avoid sugar if possible, so I didn’t include it in the marinade. I also used butternut squash, green peppers, and leeks instead of sweet potato and brussel sprouts 🙂

 

 

One of my favourite cookbooks is Oh She Glows. It’s vegan, which means I don’t have to modify for dairy-free. I’ve been able to cook several things from this cookbook and they have all turned out wonderfully.

This African Peanut Stew was no exception.

DSC02926DSC02924

We are headed on a mini-vacation this week to Queensland, but when we get back I’m putting these dishes on the meal plan:

Chicken Fajita Stuffed Sweet Potatoes or Loaded Thai Sweet Potatoes (with chicken)

20 Minute Tomato Basil Fish 

Chickpea Burgers with salad

Honey Balsamic Chicken with roasted vegetables

Warm Taco Salad

We’ll see how many I actually make, and how many nights we get take out or go out for dinner before we leave. There are still several restaurants I want to try in Canberra!

