Last week in Australia

So, we’ve been back in Canada for about a week now. With car issues, preparing to move apartments, and going back to work things have gotten busy already! So, that’s my excuse as to why I haven’t blogged in awhile.

I actually still have a few more posts from Australia I want to write up. I’ll just reminisce as I look through these photos.

In the last week, Australia gifted us with one more holiday! I think we chose a great time to visit because it seemed like every other weekend was a 3-day weekend. This one was ANZAC Day, which honours the Australian and New Zealander soldiers who have fought and died in the wars.

We celebrated by having a Game of Thrones premiere brunch party! With the time difference between America and Australia, the first release of Game of Thrones is at 11AM on Monday morning.

Brunch with champagne. After the show…table tennis tournament!

Adam and made sure to take in the views of Canberra on our final week. I’d wanted to do a walk around Lake Burley Griffin at sunset for awhile, so there we went. It’s about 5km around…a great morning / evening stroll or run.

A big kiss for the guy who made this whole trip possible!

DSC03197

A month or so ago we hiked up Mount Taylor and it was one of our favourites that we did while in Canberra. The second time was just as good.

One day we headed to Questacon. It’s the Science World or Science North of Canberra. Of course, I loved it. Still a nerd!

These were fluorescent scarves you put in the air tubes and depending on how you closed off the air vents, they would pop out over your head at different locations.

Family brunch at Pod Food was so good. Really interesting dishes and the setting was beautiful. They also had several dairy-free options. (YAY!) I had some sort of smoked trout or smoked salmon dish with eggs (bottom right photo). Can’t quite remember all the details and now I can no longer find it on their menu.

Sloane loved the pancakes!!

DSC03225

Most importantly, in the last week we got to spend quality time with friends. I miss these guys so very much and I’m so grateful that I got to spend the last 3 months with them.

DSC03245

I’ve said it before, but I don’t mind saying it again…our Australia trip was amazing. Hiking, beaching, snorkelling, travelling, visiting wineries, swimming, seeing Australian animals, meeting new people, spending time with old friends. Who wouldn’t have a good time?! It was a much-needed break from real-life and I can’t wait to go back!

20160504_081305

 

